top of page

About Us

Jackson County Transit is a fully coordinated, public transportation system that operates as a branch of Jackson County Government. We provide transportation for human service agencies, the elderly, persons with disabilities, and the general public of Jackson County. In addition we offer a deviated fixed route, paratransit service, and a demand response service between 7:00 am and 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday, except holidays.


Limited service is available to Asheville, Waynesville, Franklin and Bryson City. Trips outside of Jackson County must be scheduled at least one (1) week in advance of the trip. If appointments are made less than one week in advance they will be taken on availability. Requests for in county service must be made before 2:00 pm prior to the scheduled trip, except for the Jackson Trolley, which operates Monday through Friday from 7:00 am until 5:00 pm, and on Saturdays from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm. This is a deviated fixed service that includes 14 fixed bus stops along the route.

For persons with hearing or speech disabilities, call 711 or (800) 735-2962. System information in accessible formats are available upon request.

April Alm
Transit Director

bottom of page